Apex Legends :: All Guns Reviewed and Ranked

Updated: Feb 25, 2019


Apex Legends is the game of the year. I'm calling it right now. I absolutely love this game and have been playing it every chance I get since it came out. I have put considerable time into this game, and have held off reviewing anything until I had a rich understanding of the game and it's mechanics. That being said, lets get into this review... and hang tight, it's going to be a long one.


**When used below, B/H/L stands for Body/Head/Leg**


Tier 1

God Guns - these are my picks for the best guns in the game - one's you should learn to use and certainly keep throughout the game once you find them. These are usable by both new and advanced players.


Wingman

Wingman

  • Type: Pistol

  • Ammo: Heavy

  • Mag Size: 6

  • Fire Rate: 3.1/second

  • DPS: 139.5

  • B/H/L Damage: 45/90/40.5

The Wingman is the only non-legendary gun in this tier. For anyone who remembers the Desert Eagle in Call Of Duty 4, that is pretty much what the Wingman is in Apex Legends. This gun is best in the hands of a player with excellent aim and precision.


Mastiff

Mastiff

  • Type: Shotgun

  • Ammo: Unique Shells

  • Mag Size: 4

  • Fire Rate: 1.3/second

  • DPS: 187.2

  • B/H/L Damage: 18/36/18 per pellet for a maximum of 144/288/144

The Mastiff is one of 2 legendary weapons in the game and as such can only come from air drops. It has it's own unique ammo, is not compatible with regular shotgun ammo and takes not attachments. The mastiff fires 8 pellets in a horizontal line pattern. The damage on this weapon is INSANE. This gun is monkey food... BANANAS!! Anyone can pick this up and do well with it, but it is best in the hands of players that like to fight at close range and are good at snap shooting (also called 'twitch aiming').


Kraber

Kraber .50Cal Sniper

  • Type: Sniper Rifle

  • Ammo: Unique

  • Mag Size: 4

  • Fire Rate: 1.2/second

  • DPS: 150

  • B/H/L Damage: 125/250/90.625

The Kraber is the other legendary weapon in the game and also can only come from air drops. It comes with it's own unique ammo, is not compatible with regular ammo, a 6x-10x scope and takes no other attachments. This gun dishes out massive damage at an impressive range. This is best in the hands of a player who likes to take fights at longer ranges, or wants to get a quick knockdown to create a 2v3 push opportunity for their team.


Tier 2

Strong guns - These guns are not as strong as Tier 1, but can be used effectively into late game. These are good weapons for new players and perform at a high level.


Peacekeeper

Peacekeeper

  • Type: Shotgun

  • Ammo: Shells

  • Mag Size: 6

  • Fire Rate: .97/second

  • DPS: 106.7

  • B/H/L Damage: 10/15/8 per pellet for a maximum of 110/165/88

The Peacekeeper is a standard shotgun and fires a total of 11 pellets in a star pattern which yields INSANE damage at close range. The caveat here is that it is also the slowest firing gun in the game. A hop up (precision choke) is available for this gun in Epic rarity, which turns this into a shotgun sniper rifle for all intents and purposes. This gun is best in the hands of a player who is proficient in snap shooting (also called 'twitch aiming') because with such a slow fire rate, hitting your first shot is very important.


EVA-8

Eva-8

  • Type: Shotgun

  • Ammo: Shells

  • Mag Size: 8

  • Fire Rate: 2/second

  • DPS: 126

  • B/H/L Damage: 7/10/5.6 per pellet for a maximum of 63/90/50.4

The EVA-8 is an automatic shotgun with a surprisingly high rate of fire. While it's damage per shot can't hold a candle to the Peacekeeper, it makes up for it with the flexibility of putting more rounds on target which can be the difference in a fight won or lost. This is best used as a finisher weapon, not necessarily something you want to start a fight with, unless you can barrel stuff. This gun is effective in the hands of advanced players and new players alike as it has a very forgiving play style.

Spirfire

Splitfire

  • Type: LMG

  • Ammo: Heavy

  • Mag Size: 35

  • Fire Rate: 9

  • DPS: 180

  • B/H/L Damage: 20/40/16

I LOVE the Spitfire. This is a fantastic beast of a weapon. When you start ripping off rounds, the sound just feels amazing. It is very accurate for an LMG and pretty easy to control as far as recoil is concerned. The first few shots are the hardest to control, but after that it's smooth sailing even at distances a little further away. The spitfire shines as a tool to help reposition your team by laying down supressive cover fire, as well as melting enemies in close range. This best suites a support character as it doesn't have quite the DPS I look for in an aggressive play style.

R301

R-301

  • Type: Assault Rifle

  • Ammo: Light

  • Mag Size: 18

  • Fire Rate: 13.5

  • DPS: 189

  • B/H/L Damage: 14/28/10.5

The R-301 is my absolute favorite gun in the game. While it is rather low in base damage, it more than makes up for it with a great fire rate and ease of control. You can't go wrong at any range with the R-301 and I always want one in my final kit. I like to switch to single shot mode at longer ranges, and it practically eliminates all recoil.


G7 Scout

G7 Scout

  • Type: Sniper Rifle

  • Ammo: Light

  • Mag Size: 10

  • Fire Rate: 4.5

  • DPS: 135

  • B/H/L Damage: 30/60/21.75

The G7 Scout is my favorite sniper rifle (except the Kraber of course) in the game. It is very versatile and performs solidly at all medium and long ranges. The one down fall of this gun is that you have to land multiple shots to take someone from 100-0 since a headshot only deals 60 damage. This is only Sniper Rifle not capable of a one shot kill, but it's versatility makes it a top pick for me.


Tier 3

Situational guns - These guns have a time and place to be used, but outside those, they are not very strong.


R-99

R-99

  • Type: SMG

  • Ammo: Light

  • Mag Size: 18

  • Fire Rate: 18/second

  • DPS: 216

  • B/H/L Damage: 12/18/9.6

The R-99 has the fastest fire rate (and highest DPS) in the SMG class and therefor ranks highest among them. This gun is only effective at close range, and is therefor highly situational. It's best used as a finishing gun after you have expended all ammo in your primary weapon and are close enough for it to be effective.


Prowler

Prowler

  • Type: Burst SMG

  • Ammo: Heavy

  • Mag Size: 20

  • Fire Rate: 20

  • DPS: 122.78

  • B/H/L Damage: 14/21/11

The Prowler is a 5 round burst SMG that can be made automatic by way of the select fire hop up. With that, it goes from a decent gun to a gun that simply dominates short range fights. I have this as a Tier 3 gun due to relying on a secondary item to make it better. As a 5 round burst gun alone, it's decent - but with the hop-up, it dominates in short range engagements and becomes Tier 2 quality. This gun is best in the hands of an experienced player who can snap shoot and has good accuracy.


Havoc

Havoc

  • Type: Assault Rifle

  • Ammo: Energy

  • Mag Size: 25

  • Fire Rate: 11.2

  • DPS: 201.6

  • B/H/L Damage: 18/36/13.5

The Havoc is the first gun to be added to the game since it's release. Like the Devotion, this gun lives and dies by it's hop up. With it, it is a strong gun at medium to close ranges. Without it, this gun fails miserably. I have not been able to consistently find the hop up and therefor only include this in my kit if I have no better options. The single shot mode doesn't deal enough damage to justify using up 5 energy rounds AND you cannot attach an extended mag to it.


VK-47 Flatline

VK-47 Flatline

  • Type: Assault Rifle

  • Ammo: Heavy

  • Mag Size: 20

  • Fire Rate: 10

  • DPS: 160

  • B/H/L Damage: 16/32/12

I consider the Flatline to be the 'average' assault rifle - the stick by which all others are measured. Nothing really stands out about this gun. It has decent damage stats, a good magazine size and it's fairly easy to control the recoil. It does nothing at all better than the R-301 which is why I have ranked it where I do.


Hemlock - Blue Skin

Hemlock

  • Type: Burst Assault Rifle

  • Ammo: Heavy

  • Mag Size: 18

  • Fire Rate: 15

  • DPS: 108

  • B/H/L Damage: 18/36/13.5 per bullet for up to 54/108/40.5 per burst

The Hemlock, as the name implies, fires with a 3 round burst. This requires solid prolonged accuracy in order to deal any real damage. It excels in the medium range engagements as it simply cannot compete with the other guns at short ranges, and doesn't put out enough damage to make it viable in the longer ranges. I recommend putting this on single fire mode and ripping away with your trigger finger.


Longbow

Longbow

  • Type: Sniper Rifle

  • Ammo: Heavy

  • Mag Size: 5

  • Fire Rate: 1.2

  • DPS: 66

  • B/H/L Damage: 55/110/39.875

Can you guess where the Longbow shines? If you said 'long range' you're right! This is an excellent choice for long range engagements and trading shots with enemy snipers as well. I do not like it in the medium or short ranges as it feels clunky to ADS at those ranges.


Tier 4

Weak Guns - These guns can be useful early on, but should be discarded as soon as possible.


RE-45

RE-45

  • Type: Pistol

  • Ammo: Light

  • Mag Size: 15

  • Fire Rate: 13

  • DPS: 143

  • B/H/L Damage: 11/16/9.9

Alternator

Alternator

  • Type: SMG

  • Ammo: Light

  • Mag Size: 16

  • Fire Rate: 10

  • DPS: 130

  • B/H/L Damage: 13/19/10.4

The Alternator is slow firing with just ok damage. It has mostly vertical recoil with very little horizontal movement which makes it a good gun for beginners to use. It will not outperform many other guns at any range and is therefore low on this list.

Devotion

Devotion

  • Type: LMG

  • Ammo: Energy

  • Mag Size: 44

  • Fire Rate: 15 (after spin up)

  • DPS: 255

  • B/H/L Damage: 17/34/12.75

I may be one of the few people that don't love the Devotion. The gun looks strong on paper. Large magazine, good fire rate, high DPS... but the spin up time is a killer! I've lost more fights than I'd like to admit due to how long it takes this gun to spin up and start firing fast. This is not a gun to rely on when a fight breaks out and it chews through ammo so fast that you often can only carry enough for one fight.


Triple-Take

Triple Take

  • Type: Sniper Rifle

  • Ammo: Energy

  • Mag Size: 5

  • Fire Rate: 1.25

  • DPS: 86.25

  • B/H/L Damage: 23/46/16.675 per bullet for up to 69/138/50.025 per shot

The Triple Take is more of a long range shotgun than a sniper rifle. Like it's name suggests, it shoots 3 rounds simultaneously that have a horizontal spread. This spread can be decreased via a hop-up, but again, relying on a secondary item to make a gun good is not a good idea. With energy ammo being relatively hard to find, and multiple better options out there, I would leave this on the ground the first chance I get.


Tier 5

Garbage Guns - These guns should be avoided at all costs and only carried if nothing else is around.


P2020

P2020

  • Type: Pistol

  • Ammo: Light

  • Mag Size: 10

  • Fire Rate: 8.5

  • DPS: 102

  • B/H/L Damage: 12/18/10.8

Pew Pew Pew... 'Nuff said.


Mozambique


Mozambique

  • Type: Shotgun

  • Ammo: Shells

  • Mag Size: 3

  • Fire Rate: 2.2

  • DPS: 99

  • B/H/L Damage: 15/22/13.5 per pellet for up to 45/66/40.5 total

With a punch doing 30 damage, you're better off just slugging an enemy in the kisser than trying to shoot them with this under powered and underwhelming offering in the shotgun department.


So there you have it. Every gun in the game reviewed with some key stats. I hope this guide was informative and helps you improve your gameplay and game knowledge. Maybe we'll see each other on the battlefield!


If you enjoyed this post, please smash the like button. Let me know in the comment section if you have any questions you'd like answered about Apex Legends.

199 views1 comment
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Facebook Social Icon

2019 by Anthony Terrano